We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

We Didn't Start The Fight

by Various Artists



Weekly Independent Music Taster #70

This week's collection is entitled We Didn't Start The Fight, directly inspired by The Cancellations' new record, Fist Fight. The band have kindly contributed 'It Won't Leave Me Alone' to this compilation, a fine example of their modern take on powerpop. We also collaborate with FDH Records once again through the bombastic punk addition of Trash Knife. Big Stir Records begin a partnership with us this week too. ABR will be bringing you songs from their monthly album releases for the foreseeable future. This week, we welcome The Stan Laurels.

It is with great pleasure that we also welcome back some good friends. Sue Decker returns with her unforgettable Canadiana blues, Steven Palmer delivers his country meanderings and Paul Broadhead gives us some more pop rock goodness. As always, please download, listen loud, dig deeper with your discoveries, and support Aldora Britain Records and independent music.

There are further new additions this week and they are many and varied. We have the bluesy swamp rock of Ged Wilson, the deep funk groove of The Blaxound Family and the rootsy folk rock of Bucky Halker. There is British Americana from The Lost Notes, folky 'Nordicana' from Waterfahl and brilliant alt folk from David Gluck. Fran Clark gives us soulful R&B, Michael Gabriel & The Quixotics bring us alternative pop and The Chimney Brothers deliver us garage rhythm and blues.

Marvin McDaniel has the funk rock covered before we have a set of Americana gems from Dance Bullies, Praying For Rain and Pi Jacobs. To conclude, we have the art folk of Benjamin Russell, the nu-country rock of Nick Kizirnis and the spacey shoegaze of La Cerca.


released February 19, 2021

This album is dedicated to Nolan Porter. Artwork from an image by Linnaea Mallette, 'Vintage Boxers', in the public domain. Compiled for Aldora Britain Records (ABR-131) by Tom Hilton. 'Down The Line' written by and used by permission of Ged Wilson, taken from 'Anthology' (2019). 'Feel The Blaxound' written by and used by permission of The Blaxound, taken from 'Return Of The Blaxound' (2007). 'Thinkin' 'Bout That Girl' written by and used by permission of Bucky Halker, taken from 'Wisconsin 2.13.63 Volume One' (2006). 'Goodbye Yesterday' written by B.J. Mills/O. Jobes/L. Mills, used by permission of The Lost Notes, taken from 'Lowlifes & High Times' (2020). 'Romance' written by and used by permission of Waterfahl, taken from 'Sharp Flats' (2020). 'Waitress' written by and used by permission of David Gluck, taken from 'Death Is A Quiet Customer' (2019). 'Red-Handed Puppet' written by John Lathrop, used by permission of Big Stir Records, taken from 'There Is No Light Without The Dark' (2021). 'It Won't Leave Me Alone' written by The Cancellations, used by permission of Erik Matthijs, taken from 'Fist Fight' (2021). 'Outskirts Of Love' written by S. Decker/W. Gogol, used by permission of Sue Decker, taken from 'Outskirts Of Love' (2019). 'One More Day' written by and used by permission of S. Palmer, taken from 'From Here To Nashville' (2003). 'Beautiful People' written by and used by permission of Fran Clarke, taken from 'Beautiful People' (2013). 'Dark Holly' written by and used by permission of Michael Gabriel, taken from 'Crestfallen' (2020). 'Tips' written by Trash Knife, used by permission of FDH Records, taken from 'EP / EP' (2020). 'Second Floor' written by and used by permission of The Chimney Brothers, taken from 'Rhythm & Blues Rendez-Vous' (2004). 'Electric Bluz' written by and used by permission of Marvin McDaniel, taken from 'Sophia: Volume Two' (2020). 'Irregular Heartbeat' written by and used by permission of Paul Broadhead, taken from 'Release' (2018). 'Lately I've Been Thinking' written by Colleen Harvey/Kate Bender, used by permission of Dance Bullies, taken from 'Dance Bullies' (2018). 'Obsession' written by Domenic DeCicco/Vince DeCicco, taken from 'Celebrate' (2020). 'Anything' written by and used by permission of Lisa Marie Jacobs, taken from 'Urbanicana' (2013). 'Shadows' written by Elyce/Benjamin Russell, used by permission of Benjamin Russell, taken from 'Shikasta Suite' (2019). 'Fading Away' written by and used by permission of Nick Kizirnis, taken from 'The Distance' (2020). 'Free Of Expectation' written by and used by permission of La Cerca, taken from 'A Nice Sweet Getaway' (2020).


all rights reserved



Aldora Britain Records Rothley, UK

The worldwide hub of independent and underground music since 2013.

contact / help

Contact Aldora Britain Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like We Didn't Start The Fight, you may also like: