Tough Times On The Leicestershire County Line

by Various Artists

/
1.
2.
3.
The Bombs 03:22
4.
5.
6.
I Know 02:19
7.
8.
9.
Sands 03:48
10.
11.
12.
Argyrocracy 01:23
13.
14.
Start Over 03:07
15.
16.
17.
18.
Candy Dancer 05:15
19.
20.
21.
Mesecina 04:35
22.
Siempre 02:05
23.
24.
[explosions] 03:49
25.
Extinction 03:16
26.

about

Weekly Independent Music Taster #111

Aldora Britain Records proudly presents Tough Times On The Leicestershire County Line, a collection of 26 eclectic musical selections from all around the globe. This week's title is a reference to Bitter Pill's 2020 LP, Desperate Times On The New Hampshire State Line. A selection from that record, 'Hungry, Broke, Travelin' Folk', an unforgettable piece of skiffle bluegrass, is included here.

We welcome back several old friends this week to help us out. From Italy, we have the strutting 60s-influenced glam rock of The Shea, and from Poland, we have the driving and alternative noir blues of Blues For Neighbors. Hello London return with their matured take on modern alt rock, Bruce Madden gives us reverberating bluesy surf rock, and Shawn Smith brings us travelling Americana folk rock. There is quirky storytelling folk rock from Doug Hoekstra, and anthemic guitar-driven synthwave from Erzo.

Toby Watson of The Lamplight Club contributes a track from his new fuzz-heavy hard psych project Red Dansette. 4000 Records return with Greshka, a genre-jumping slice of jazz-funk fusion, and Noir Et Blanc, free-flowing piano compositions.

As always, please download, listen loud, dig deeper with your discoveries, and support Aldora Britain Records and independent music.

Have a brilliant weekend!

Tom @ Aldora Britain Records

---------

Please welcome these new faces to the Aldora Britain Records Community this week:

Bellhouse (melancholic indie sunshine pop).
Bloodloss * (fast-and-furious nu-metal).
Broken Radio (endlessly roaming cosmic Americana).
Currys, The (contemporary southern rock drive).
Date Night With Brian (college rock / pop punk crossover).
Derek Reynolds (alternative contemporary singer / songwriter).
Fresh Breath (storytelling nostalgic soft rock).
Gord Wilson (sweat-drenched punk rock).
Jules Chanson (progressive upbeat world music).
Lona (raspy and soulful blues).
Noah Cline (old-time traditional banjo music).
Piper Radcliffe (folk rock with a pop sensibility).
Remote Kontrol (twanging and rollicking neo-rockabilly).
Socratena (fun old-time ukulele music).
Stephen Chopek (new wave pop rock adventure).

* Bloodloss are an old band of Gord Wilson's.

credits

released December 3, 2021

This album is dedicated to Kim White. Special thank you to all the artists, bands, producers and labels involved in the making of this compilation. Artwork taken from the image 'Guitarist On The Street' by George Hodan, used and modified under Public Domain license. Album compiled by Tom Hilton for Aldora Britain Records (ABR-260).

Tracks 1-5:

'Rockabilly Girl (A.K.A. Good Ol Rock N Roll)' written by T. Ewing / C. McAteer / C. Logan, used by permission of Remote Kontrol, originally released on 'Remote Kontrol' (2021). 'Anywhere Other Than' written by and used by permission of The Currys, originally released on 'This Side Of The Glass' (2019). 'The Bombs' written by Othmar Schonafinger, used by permission of Konkord Records, originally released on 'Disappear' (2021). 'The Devil Went Down To Town' written by Blues For Neighbors, used by permission of Road Rat Records, originally released on 'Cursed Songs' (2021). 'Rolling Wheels' written by Klaus Paztak, used by permission of Broken Radio, originally released on 'Twerk & Twang' (2020).

Tracks 6-10:

'I Know' written by Kimberly Paglia, used by permission of Bellhouse, originally released on 'Golden' (2021). 'Hungry, Broke, Travelin' Folk' written by and used by permission of Bitter Pill, originally released on 'Desperate Times On The New Hampshire State Line' (2020). 'Love's To Blame' written by and used by permission of Piper Radcliffe, originally released on 'Odyssey' (2021). 'Sands' written by and used by permission of James Froese, originally released on 'Stay That Way' (2021). 'Naked Light Of Day' written by Red Dansette, used by permission of Toby Watson, originally released on 'Naked Light Of Day' (2021).

Tracks 11-15:

'The House Is On Fire' written by and used by permission of Bruce Madden, originally released on 'Look Back!' (2021). 'Argyrocracy' written by and used by permission of Gord Wilson, originally released on 'Stains Of Humanity' (2021). 'Only An Hour Or Two' written by and used by permission of Date Night With Brian, originally released on 'Date Night With Brian' (2017). 'Start Over' written by and used by permission of Stephen Chopek, originally released on 'Dweller' (2021). 'When We First Met' written by Josh Pascoe / Katie Pascoe, used by permission of Fresh Breath, originally released on 'How Did I Get There' (2021).

Tracks 16-20:

'Nothing Left For Me' written by and used by permission of Shawn Smith, originally released on 'East Side Magdala' (2018). 'The Mountain Staircase' written by and used by permission of Noah Cline, originally released on 'The Mountain Staircase: A Sampling Of Old-Time, Irish, And Original Tunes' (2018). 'Candy Dancer' written by and used by permission of Doug Hoekstra, originally released on 'The Day Deserved' (2021). 'Lonesome Wolf Blues' written by and used by permission of Lona, originally released on 'From Heart To Soul' (2020). 'Lesson Learned' written by and used by permission of Derek Reynolds, originally released on 'Lessons Learned' (2019).

Tracks 21-25:

'Mesecina' written by Andre Bonetti, used by permission of 4000 Records, originally released on 'Inebriation' (2021). 'Siempre' written by and used by permission of Jules Janssen, originally released on 'Playa Negra' (2021). 'Ascend Into Pleasure' written by and used by permission of Kerr Masterton, originally released on 'Ascend Into Pleasure' (2021). 'Explosions' written by Arthur Ramsay, used by permission of 4000 Records, originally released on 'Indistinct Chatter' (2020). 'Extinction' written by Bloodloss, used by permission of Gord Wilson, originally released on 'Push Comes To Shovel' (2009).

Track 26:

'The Vacuum Cleaner Song' written by Cecil Shaw, used by permission of Socratena, originally released on 'Socratena' (2021).

--------

More Bellhouse: bellhouseband.bandcamp.com.

More Bitter Pill: bitterpill.bandcamp.com.

More Bloodloss: NOT AVAILABLE ON BANDCAMP.

More Blues For Neighbors: bluesfn.bandcamp.com.

More Broken Radio: brokenradio.bandcamp.com.

More Bruce Madden: brucemadden.bandcamp.com.

More The Currys: thecurrys.bandcamp.com.

More Date Night With Brian: datenightwithbrian.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Derek Reynolds: derek.bandcamp.com.

More Doug Hoekstra: doughoekstra.bandcamp.com.

More Erzo: NOT AVAILABLE ON BANDCAMP.

More Fresh Breath: freshbreath.bandcamp.com.

More Gord Wilson: gordwilson43.bandcamp.com.

More Greshka: greshka.bandcamp.com.

More Hello London: hellolondon.bandcamp.com.

More Jules Chanson: juleschanson.bandcamp.com.

More Lona: lona7.bandcamp.com/album/from-heart-to-soul.

More Noah Cline: noahclinebanjo.bandcamp.com.

More Noir Et Blanc: noiretblanc.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Piper Radcliffe: piperradcliffe.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Red Dansette: NOT AVAILABLE ON BANDCAMP.

More Remote Kontrol: remotekontrol1.bandcamp.com.

More Shawn Smith: shawnsmith1.bandcamp.com.

More The Shea: theshea.bandcamp.com.

More Socratena: socratena.bandcamp.com.

More Stephen Chopek: stephenchopek.bandcamp.com.

license

all rights reserved

tags

about

Aldora Britain Records Rothley, UK

The worldwide hub of independent and underground music since 2013.

contact / help

Contact Aldora Britain Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Tough Times On The Leicestershire County Line, you may also like: