We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Pretty Words On The 24th

by Various Arists



Weekly Independent Music Taster #114

And just like that, it is time for the Christmas Eve compilation! An alternative to the festive offerings that we are force-fed at this time of year!

Aldora Britain Records proudly presents Pretty Words On The 24th, an eclectic collection of 26 songs from all around the world. This week's title is in reference to Casey Noel's magnificent contribution, 'Pretty Words', a fine snapshot of her kindhearted Americana style.

We welcome back a few familiar faces this week too. Ryan Chrys and The Rough Cuts return with their timeless take on outlaw country, and Alex Blum and The Roadside Quartet give us Americana-minded folk rock. We also see the return of Fir Cone Children's dream punk, and the jangly vintage pop of Mr Magpie. 4000 Records contribute the new wave soul of The Holy Rollercoasters, and Big Stir bring us the powerpop of Spygenius.

As always, please download, listen loud, dig deeper with your discoveries, and support Aldora Britain Records and independent music.

Have a very merry Christmas and a happy new year! Take care and see you soon!

Tom @ Aldora Britain Records


Please welcome these new faces to the Aldora Britain Records Community this week:

Babokalyps (progressive world music).
Brother Joshua & Joe Kurtz (lo-fi loving troubadour folk).
Chris MacKay And The Toneshifters * (swirling, swinging surf rock).
Damen Samuel (emotive, meaningful neo-soul).
Fairy Tale (operative progressive art rock).
Gabriele Caporuscio (fresh, energetic traditional folk).
Haystack Mountain Hermits (bluegrass skiffle steam-train).
Kathy Freeman (raucous, rollicking neo-rockabilly).
Kim White Band (country rock songwriting brilliance).
Lescines (explosive funk rock energy).
Mishra (eerie ancient folk musicianship).
Penelope's Thrill (alternative pop college rock).
She's A Fish (swirling technicolour psychedelia).
SoundDiary (anthemic, soaring new prog).
Toneshifters (honky-tonk swamp swing).
Wages Of Sin (Celtic punk sea shanty).
Wolfoni (fuzzy and surfing rockabilly).
Woody Jiang (charming and warm folk rock).
$yndrm (expansive avant art rock).

* The same project as 'The Toneshifters', also featured here.


released December 24, 2021

This album is dedicated to Kim White. Special thank you to all the artists, bands, producers and labels involved in the making of this compilation. Artwork taken from the image 'Christmas Village' by Petr Kratochvil, used and modified under Public Domain license. Album compiled by Tom Hilton for Aldora Britain Records (ABR-272).

Tracks 1-5:

'Fare Thee Well' written by The Wages Of Sin / Tom Martin / Travis Morgan / Jesse Stewart, used by permission of The Wages Of Sin, originally released on 'Queensbury Rules' (2014). 'My Shoes And Me' written by G. Riot / C. Palant / C. Rehault, used by permission of Wolfoni, originally released on 'North Coast Killers' (2021). 'Shan Van Vocht' is a traditional composition, used by permission of Gabriele Caporuscio, originally released on 'Stranger At The Gate' (2020). 'Go Speed' written by Chris MacKay, used by permission of Chris MacKay and The Toneshifters, originally released on 'All Washed Up' (2017). 'Coming Back To You' written by Chris MacKay, used by permission of The Toneshifters, originally released on 'Live! Raw! Vintage!' (2020).

Tracks 6-10:

'Shouting Your Name' written by The Holy Rollercoasters, used by permission of 4000 Records, originally released on 'Embrace' (2020). 'Sayonara, Adios' written by and used by permission of Kathy Freeman, originally released on 'My Amazing Life' (2017). 'Rollin' In My Sweet Baby's Arms' is a traditional composition, used by permission of Haystack Mountain Hermits, originally released on 'Going Home' (2019). 'I Never Will Marry' is a traditional composition with additional writing from Griffin, used by permission of Mishra, originally released on 'Reclaim' (2021). 'Tearin' It Up' written by Ryan Chrys and The Rough Cuts, used by permission of Ryan Chrys, originally released on 'Western Abyss' (2019).

Tracks 11-15:

'It's Still Me' written by and used by permission of Patrick Thomas Storedahl, originally released on 'Talk Amongst Yourselves' (2021). 'The Gates' written by and used by permission of Damen Samuel, originally released on 'Odyssey' (2014). 'Clockwork Clouds' written by Timothy Walsh, used by permission of Penelope's Thrill, originally released on 'Twilight On The Tunnel Road' (2021). 'Queen Of Eyes' written by Spygenius, used by permission of Big Stir Records, originally released on 'Big Stir Records / SpyderPop Records: 2021 Retrospective' (2021). 'Humans' written by and used by permission of $yndrm, originally released on 'Façade' (2021).

Tracks 16-20:

'Paint The Streets' written by and used by permission of Alexander Leonard Donat, originally released on 'It Chooses You' (2021). 'Roundabout' written by and used by permission of Lescines, originally released on 'Inner City Electricity' (2020). 'Girl Of The Opera' written by Peter Kravec, used by permission of Fairy Tale, originally released on 'That Is The Question' (2021). 'Blue Ridge Parkway' written by and used by permission of Brother Joshua / Joe Kurtz, originally released on 'Highway Songs' (2021). 'Pretty Words' written by and used by permission of Casey Noel, originally released on 'Not Just Pretty Words' (2020).

Tracks 21-25:

'Redwing' written by and used by permission of Woody Jiang, originally released on 'The Experience Is Real' (2021). 'While This Time Away' written by and used by permission of Simone Frosoni, originally released on 'Effulgent' (2022). 'Resonance' written by and used by permission of SoundDiary, originally released on 'Anamnesis - Letter In A Bottle' (2019). 'Nad Ranom' written by Babokalyps, used by permission of Fairy Tale, originally released on 'Velky Voz' (2020).

Track 26:

'Ghost Trains Of Old England' written by and used by permission of Mr Magpie, originally released on 'The Magical World Of Mr Magpie' (2019).


More Alex Blum And The Roadside Quartet: alexblumandtheroadsidequartet.bandcamp.com.

More Babokalyps: progshinerecords.bandcamp.com/album/ve-k-voz.

More Brother Joshua & Joe Kurtz: harpfamilyrecordings.bandcamp.com/album/highway-songs.

More Casey Noel: caseynoel.bandcamp.com.

More Chris MacKay (And The Toneshifters): toneshifters.bandcamp.com.

More Damen Samuel: damen-samuel.bandcamp.com.

More Fairy Tale: fairytaleartrock.bandcamp.com.

More Fir Cone Children: blackjackilluministrecords.bandcamp.com/album/it-chooses-you.

More Gabriele Caporuscio: gabrielecaporuscio.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Haystack Mountain Hermits: haystackmountainhermits.bandcamp.com.

More Holy Rollercoasters: theholyrollercoasters.bandcamp.com/album/embrace.

More Kathy Freeman: kathyfreeman.bandcamp.com.

More Kim White Band: thekimwhiteband.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Lescines: buildingsofdreams.com/album/inner-city-electricity.

More Mishra: mishramusic.bandcamp.com.

More Mr Magpie: mrmagpieband.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Penelope's Thrill: penelopesthrill.bandcamp.com.

More Ryan Chrys And The Rough Cuts: ryanchrys.bandcamp.com.

More She's A Fish: shesafish.bandcamp.com/releases.

More SoundDiary: sounddiaryofficial.bandcamp.com.

More Spygenius: spygenius.bandcamp.com.

More Wages Of Sin: thewagesofsin.bandcamp.com.

More Wolfoni: idoproductions.bandcamp.com/album/north-coast-killers.

More Woody Jiang: woodyjiang.com.

More $yndrm: syndrm.bandcamp.com.


all rights reserved



Aldora Britain Records Rothley, UK

The worldwide hub of independent and underground music since 2013.

contact / help

Contact Aldora Britain Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Pretty Words On The 24th, you may also like: