We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Nudist Buddhist On The 31st

by Various Artists



Weekly Independent Music Taster #115

Aldora Britain Records proudly presents Nudist Buddhist On The 31st, an eclectic collection of 26 songs from all around the world. This week's title is a reference to The Prof. Fuzz 63's contribution, 'Nudist Buddhist Judas Priest Fan'. The track is a perfect snapshot of their swirling take on fuzz rock.

Elsewhere, this particular compilation possibly takes the crown for the most experimental release we have ever put out. We start off with traditional folk beauty and finish in the never-ending experimentation of krautrock. A large variety! There is a heavy prog influence in the final quarter of the album too, tracks regularly clocking in around the 10-minute mark.

We welcome back the heartbreakingly gorgeous songwriting of Siena Christie, the tender shuffling Americana of Steve Ashley, and the rollicking heartland rock of Ben Reel. 4000 Records return with Requin, experimental and free-from alt rock.

As always, please download, listen loud, dig deeper with your discoveries, and support Aldora Britain Records and independent music.

Tom @ Aldora Britain Records


Please welcome these new faces to the Aldora Britain Records Community this week:

A Country Practice (reverberating freak-folk bliss).
Antinode (heavy progressive psych).
Arts (expertly-crafted, evolving art rock).
Barry Noakes (travelling, troubadouring folk rock).
Brain Echoes (hard and symphonic new prog).
Bruce Humphries * (driving garage rockabilly).
Bruce Humphries & The Rockabilly Rebels (driving rock 'n' roll revival).
Bryan Howell (powerpop-inclined heartland rock).
Chris Giguere And The Final Say (singer/songwriter Canadiana).
Electric Orange (endlessly experimental Krautrock).
Far Cry (classic-sounding prog odyssey).
Honky Tonkitis (swinging honky-tonk country).
Lighthouse Audio (bluesy, rootsy rock and roll).
Lorenzo Ripani & The Rockin' Daddys (vintage rock and roll revival).
Materialeyes (soaring progressive soundscapes).
Mulveye (lo-fi alternative avant pop).
Nightbird Casino (swirling colourful art rock).
Rectangle Creep (experimental alternative rock).
Reverend Dan And The Dirty Catechism (Hammond sound cowpunk).
Sneaky Heat Missiles (rumbling ska punk).
Stephen Flint (Hammond-induced garage pop).

* Bruce Humphries is also frontman of The Rockabilly Rebels who are featured here.


released December 31, 2021

This album is dedicated to JD Crowe. Special thank you to all the artists, bands, producers and labels involved in the making of this compilation. Artwork taken from the image 'Thailand Buddha Statue' by Icon 0, used and modified under Public Domain license. Album compiled by Tom Hilton for Aldora Britain Records (ABR-275).

Tracks 1-5:

'Trainhouse' written by and used by permission of Siena Christie, originally released on 'Ice Olation' (2021). 'Crows A Calling' written by and used by permission of Barry Noakes, originally released on 'A New Dawn' (2021). 'I Hope I Don't Get The Clap Tonight' written by John Steffes, used by permission of Bruce Humphries, originally released on 'Deep End Of The Bottle' (2010). 'I Can't Love You Anymore' written by and used by permission of Reverend Dan And The Dirty Catechism, originally released on 'Covet' (2020). 'Indooroopilly' written by and used by permission of A Country Practice, originally released on 'I Will Leave This Town While There's Still Light' (2021).

Tracks 6-10:

'Dame' written by Suitcoat Dave, used by permission of The Sneaky Heat Missiles, originally released on 'Sneak And Destroy' (2021). 'I May Be Wrong (But I Don't Think So)' written by and used by permission of Bruce Humphries And The Rockabilly Rebels, originally released on 'Skippin' Chicken!' (2019). 'Nudist Buddhist Judas Priest Fan' written by and used by permission of Professor Fuzz, originally released on Kirvin Streetman's Sugar Bride Blues' (2019). 'All That Glitters' written by and used by permission of Steve Ashley, originally released on 'Into The Sun' (2020). 'New Jerusalem' written by and used by permission of Ben Reel, originally released on 'The Nashville Calling' (2020).

Tracks 11-15:

''Cause I'm A Lion' written by and used by permission of Bryan Howell, originally released on 'Take The Risk' (2016). 'Prison Women' written by Stephen Flint / The Pin Project, used by permission of Stephen Flint, originally released on 'Misanthropy For Moppets' (2020). 'All The Trimming And The Trappings' written by and used by permission of Eamonn Mulvey, originally released on 'Let The Mask Slip' (2021). 'Mitchell's Bayside Hotel' written by and used by permission of Rectangle Creep, originally released on 'Bayocean' (2020). 'The Town' written by James Moore / Don Shepherd, used by permission of Nightbird Casino, originally released on 'Russian Carpet' (2021).

Tracks 16-20:

'Man At A Train Station' written by Requin, used by permission of 4000 Records, originally released on 'Shark' (2021). 'Cold, Cold Heart' written by and used by permission of Bruce Humphries, originally released on 'Sings Cold, Cold Heart' (2020). 'Donna' written by Lorenzo Ripani, used by permission of Bruce Humphries, originally released on 'Between A Rock And A Blues Place' (1986). 'By Our Love' written by and used by permission of Lighthouse Audio, originally released on 'Blue Sunday' (2008). 'Good At Being Bad' written by and used by permission of Chris Giguere, originally released on 'Shine' (2018).

Tracks 21-25:

'When Tomorrow Comes Around' written by Westmoreland, used by permission of Materialeyes, originally released on 'Three Of A Kind' (2021). 'Psychedelic Rendezvous' written by and used by permission of Arts, originally released on 'Find A Way' (2021). 'Simple Pleasures' written by Brewer / Hutchinson, used by permission of The Far Cry, originally released on 'If Only...' (2022). 'Time Capsule' written by Mischa Podstransky, used by permission of Brain Echoes, originally released on 'Blackbird (On A White Oak Tree' (2021). 'Belyd (The Blossom)' written by Travis Corwin, used by permission of Antinode, originally released on 'The Canary That Named The Stars' (2021).

Track 26:

'Season Of The Bitch' written by and used by permission of Electric Orange, originally released on 'Psi-Hybrid' (2021).


More A Country Practice: acountrypractice.bandcamp.com.

More Antinode: antinodeband.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Arts: arts2.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Barry Noakes: barrynoakes.bandcamp.com.

More Ben Reel: benreel.bandcamp.com.

More Brain Echoes: brainechoes.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Bruce Humphries (And The Rockabilly Rebels): brucehumphries.bandcamp.com.

More Bryan Howell: bryanhowell.bandcamp.com.

More Chris Giguere And The Final Say: chrisgiguere.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Electric Orange: electricorange.bandcamp.com.

More Far Cry: thefarcry1.bandcamp.com.


More Lighthouse Audio: lighthouseaudio.bandcamp.com.

More Lorenzo Ripani & The Rockin' Daddys: NOT AVAILABLE ON BANDCAMP.

More Materialeyes: materialeyes.bandcamp.com.

More Mulveye: mulveye.bandcamp.com.

More Nightbird Casino: nightbirdcasino.bandcamp.com.

More Prof. Fuzz 63: prof-fuzz63.bandcamp.com.

More Rectangle Creep: rectanglecreep.bandcamp.com.

More Requin: 4000records.bandcamp.com/album/shark.

More Reverend Dan And The Dirty Catechism: reverenddanandthedirtycatechism.bandcamp.com.

More Siena Christie: sienachristie.bandcamp.com.

More Sneaky Heat Missiles: sneakymissiles.bandcamp.com.

More Stephen Flint: stephenflint.bandcamp.com.

More Steve Ashley: steveashley.bandcamp.com/releases.


all rights reserved



Aldora Britain Records Rothley, UK

The worldwide hub of independent and underground music since 2013.

contact / help

Contact Aldora Britain Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Nudist Buddhist On The 31st, you may also like: