We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Making Up For Lost Time

by Various Artists

/
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price

     

  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 550 Aldora Britain Records releases available on Bandcamp and save 90%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Westerly, Transistor Radio, The Blue Box, River Come Down, Tree Of Life, Learning Field, Blues Beats And Brel, Sounds And Textures, and 542 more. , and , .

    Excludes supporter-only releases.

    Purchasable with gift card

      £31.34 GBP or more (90% OFF)

     

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.
6.
7.
8.
9.
10.
11.
12.
13.
14.
15.
16.
17.
18.
19.
20.
21.
22.
23.
24.
25.
26.

about

Weekly Independent Music Sampler #121

Aldora Britain Records proudly presents Making Up For Lost Time, an eclectic collection of 26 songs from all around the globe. There are several old friends who have returned with more musical goodness this week. There is the ambient indie folk of Hotel California, and the reverb-drenched dream pop of Cherry Heaven. We have whirring post-punk revival from The Boysox, jangly art rock from The Ormidales, and bluesy swamp rock from Casey Noel. Phil Gammage features with his swinging alt blues, Bunny Cult go noir with their post-punk revival, and Mark Remmington gives us a ska/dub crossover groove.

Chris MacKay of The Toneshifters appears with a contribution from his former band, KNV, who he played with in the early 2000s. Mega Dodo Records bring us psychedelic technicolour pop with their recent signing The Haven Green. There is also the country folk fingerpicking of Hitchhiking Honeymoon, the DIY folk punk of Jim, and the youthful indie rock of The Midnight Strangers.

As always, please download, listen loud, dig deeper with your discoveries, and support Aldora Britain Records and independent music.

Tom @ Aldora Britain Records

---------

Please welcome these new faces to the Aldora Britain Records Community this week:

Alex Dominish Brewing Co. (powerful indie folk).
Daughter Of The Water (storytelling medieval folk).
Grande Fox (heavy stoner psych).
Harkness (hook-based art pop).
Higher Craft (neo-psychedelic dance rock).
Jphono1 (neo-psychedelic jam band).
Larry Dearing (marching medieval instrumental).
M-Opus (concept-based alt rock).
Marco Fabbri (traditional Celtic jigs).
Methadone Skies (anthemic melodic rock).
Paul Mitch (soulful cosmic Americana).
Theresa Pauli (progressive folk pop).
Turkey Vulture (crunching punk metal).

credits

released February 25, 2022

This album is dedicated to Mark Lanegan. Special thank you to all the artists, bands, producers and labels involved in the making of this compilation. Artwork taken from the image 'Vintage Metal Clock' by Petr Kratochvil, used and modified under Public Domain license. Album compiled by Tom Hilton for Aldora Britain Records (ABR-301).

Tracks 1 - 5:

'Soothe My Soul' written by and used by permission of Daniel Bewernick-Green, originally released on 'Orange' (2021). 'Jigs: Kevin Ryan's/Young Tom Ennis/The Brit In The Liffey' written by and used by permission of Marco Fabbri, originally released on 'Crossroads' (2016). 'Future Feelings' written by Cherry Heaven, used by permission of Timothy Steingraeber, originally released on 'Let It Be Corrupted' (2022). 'Never Giving Up On Your Love' written by Jonathan Casey, used by permission of M-Opus, originally released on 'Origins' (2020). 'From Time To Time To Time' written by The Boysox, used by permission of Olaf Schnieders, originally released on 'But How Apply' (2019).

Tracks 6 - 10:

'I.D.' written by and used by permission of Harkness, originally released on 'The Occasion' (2021). 'Lonely City' written by Steve Somerset, used by permission of Mega Dodo Records, originally released on 'To Whom It May Concern' (2022). 'She's Leaving For London' written by and used by permission of Mark Branscombe / Bill Oliver, originally released on 'She's Leaving For London' (2022). 'When Will It Be? (2013 Version)' written by and used by permission of Alex Dominish, originally released on 'Small Batch Porter' (2021). 'Good Run Roscoe' written by and used by permission of Jphono1, originally released on 'Rectify Mercy' (2022).

Tracks 11 - 15:

'Driving Through' written by and used by permission of Paul Mitch, originally released on 'Echoes & Shadows' (2022). 'Playing God' written by and used by permission of Casey Noel, originally released on 'Playing God' (2022). 'Never Ending Setting Sun' written by and used by permission of Phil Gammage, originally released on 'From Nowhere To Somewhere' (2021). 'First Thing' written by Nash, used by permission of Chris MacKay, originally released on 'Complicated Or Simple' (2004). 'Into The Dark' written by Bunny Cult, used by permission of Nick Valentino, originally released on 'Rituals' (2020).

Tracks 16 - 20:

'Let's Forget We're Animals' written by and used by permission of Mark Remmington, originally released on 'Let's Forget We're Animals' (2022). 'Beautiful Day' written by and used by permission of The Higher Craft, originally released on 'Cherry Bomb Disc 1' (2021). 'Miss Blue Moon' written by and used by permission of Eric Beattie, originally released on 'Hitchhiking Honeymoon' (2019). 'Springtime' written by Jim, used by permission of Alexis Jacob, originally released on 'The Seasons Of Your Mind' (2022). 'Speed Of Light' written by and used by permission of The Midnight Strangers, originally released on 'Speed Of Light' (2020).

Tracks 21 - 25:

'Dive Into The Deep' written by and used by permission of Theresa Pauli, originally released on 'Venture Into The Sea' (2021). 'Infected By Friendship' written by and used by permission of Methadone Skies, originally released on 'Retrofuture Caveman' (2021). 'She's Married (But Not To Me)' written by Jessie May / Jim Clegg, used by permission of Turkey Vulture, originally released on 'Twist The Knife' (2022). 'Hangman' written by and used by permission of Grande Fox, originally released on 'Empty Nest' (2021). 'The Ballad Of Dunyvaig' written by and used by permission of Sarah Lambert-Gates, originally released on 'Feolin' (2022).

Track 26:

'Bransle De La Torche / Prince Rupert's March' is a 16th century composition, used by permission of Larry Dearing, originally released on 'Sine Nomine: Medieval & Renaissance Music' (2021).

---------

More Alex Dominish Brewing Co.: alexdominish.bandcamp.com.

More Boysox: theboysox.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Bunny Cult: bunnycult.bandcamp.com.

More Casey Noel: caseynoel.bandcamp.com.

More Cherry Heaven: cherryheaven.bandcamp.com.

More Daughter Of The Water: daughterofthewater.bandcamp.com.

More Grande Fox: grandefox.bandcamp.com.

More Harkness: harkness.bandcamp.com.

More Haven Green: megadodo.bandcamp.com/album/to-whom-it-may-concern.

More Higher Craft: thehighercraft.bandcamp.com.

More Hitchhiking Honeymoon: sampointer.bandcamp.com/album/hitchhiking-honeymoon.

More Hotel California: hotelcalifornia1.bandcamp.com.

More Jim: jimmusic39.bandcamp.com.

More Jphono1: jphono1.bandcamp.com.

More KNV: NOT AVAILABLE ON BANDCAMP.

More Larry Dearing: larrydearing.bandcamp.com.

More M-Opus: m-opus.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Marco Fabbri: marcofabbri1.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Mark Remmington: markremmington.bandcamp.com.

More Methadone Skies: methadoneskies.bandcamp.com.

More Midnight Strangers: themidnightstrangers.bandcamp.com.

More Ormidales: theormidales2.bandcamp.com.

More Paul Mitch: paulmitch.bandcamp.com.

More Phil Gammage: philgammage.bandcamp.com.

More Theresa Pauli: theresapauli.bandcamp.com/releases.

More Turkey Vulture: turkeyvulture.bandcamp.com.

license

all rights reserved

tags

about

Aldora Britain Records Rothley, UK

The worldwide hub of independent and underground music since 2013.

contact / help

Contact Aldora Britain Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Making Up For Lost Time, you may also like: