We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Call The Shots

by Various Artists



Independent Music Taster Compilation #38

CALL THE SHOTS is this week's offering of independent, underground and authentic grassroots music. Over an hour of guitar-driven bliss. Sounds good, doesn't it?

This week we have a (tenuous) link to The Housemartins. Percy contribute a track, 'Love Song', from their brand new album, 'Seaside Donkeys'. Percy are the 90s post-punk group that featured Hugh Whitaker on drums for seven years after he departed The Housemartins. Hugh has moved onto pastures new but Percy are still making incredible, gritty new wave music.

The title from this set is taken from Groovy Uncle who also contribute a track. We have been collaborating with Glenn and the band for our whole seven year existence and I am thrilled to confirm that their latest album, 'The Man Who Calls The Shots' (tip of the hat) may be their best yet. 'Hedging My Bets' provides a perfect taster as track four.

Brad Mott, who we originally featured on 'Our Time Will Come', a compilation we put out in 2014, before the wilderness years, is back. Brad shows off his mixing and mastering skills with a remaster of 'Summer Coat'. Be sure to get in touch with him to make your music sound that little bit better.

We also welcome back the French experimental pop genius of Cimrya Deal with his track 'Shine On Me', the raucous Canadian neo-rockabilly of the Blackball Bandits, and the hard and heavy surf rock of Edinburgh-based Mariachi Death Squad. It is an absolute pleasure to have each of these artists back, incredible talent.

Our new arrivals include Rich Webb, Bob Dylan-esque folk rock; Jak's, relentless and upfront melodic powerpop; and Space Raft, classic rock with an infectious pop sensibility and a Hammond organ twist. Will Bennett and The Tells give us some rootsy Americana rock, Tex Smith brings us classic honky-tonk country and western, and Hannah Jaye and The Hideaways and Janet Batch deliver us some good old outlaw-inclined bluegrass.

Rob Molli is on indie folk duties with a punk kick and The Lamplight Club make folk rock their own with a brooding track. The Distortionists get primal with some garage rock, Murder For Girls bring back the riot grrrl powerpop, and Lucy Wentworth concludes the set with some lo-fi contemporary folk.

Enjoy, play loud and discover your new favourite band!


released June 30, 2020

Compiled by Tom Hilton. Artwork by Tom Hilton, pictured provided by Macy Hilton. This album is dedication to Marion, Irene, Jack and Cyril. 'Letter To My Replacement (Whoever That May Be)' written by Richard Webb, David Eugene Webb, Phillip Wakeman and George-Savva Georgiou, used by permission of Rich Webb, taken from 'Le Rayon Vert' (2018). 'Wild Or Nothing' written by Mariachi Death Squad, used by permission of Martin Kelly, taken from 'You've Been Hit...' (2019). 'Nuthouse' written by Pilon and Rheaume, used by permission of Marc-Andre Pilon, taken from 'Nuthouse!' (2018). 'Hedging My Bets' written by and used by permission of Glenn Prangnell, taken from 'The Man Who Calls The Shots' (2020). 'Let Me Go Away' written by and used by permission of Jak's, taken from 'Act 1' (2020). 'It Used To Be Love' written by and used by permission of Space Raft, taken from 'Positively Space Raft' (2020). 'Love Song' written by Percy, used by permission of Jamie at Cannonball PR, taken from 'Sea Donkeys' (2020). 'Summer Coat (Brad Mott Mix)' written by The Capers, used by permission of Brad Mott, PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED (2020). 'Charades' written by and used by permission Will Bennett and The Tells, taken from 'All Your Favorite Songs' (2019). 'I Can't Live Without You' written by and used by permission of Tex Smith, taken from 'Kinfolk' (2019). 'Mr. Monetizer' written by and used by permission of Hannah Jaye and The Hideaways, taken from 'Hannah Jaye & The Hideaways' (2020). 'Nobody Loves Me' written by and used by permission of Janet Batch, taken from 'A Good Woman Is Hard To Find' (2017). 'Everyday' written by and used by permission of Rob Molli, taken from 'Everyday' (2020). 'Blackwater Kisses' written by The Lamplight Club, used by permission of Toby Watson, taken from 'Blackwater Kisses' (2020). 'Shine On Me' written by and used by permission of Cimrya Deal, taken from 'Besides...' (2020). 'Fashion Tips For The Apocalypse' written by and used by permission of The Distortionists, taken from 'Andy Narwhal' (2019). 'Star' written by and used by permission of Murder For Girls, taken from 'Done In The Dark' (2020). 'Nantwich' written by and used by permission of Lucy Wentworth, taken from 'Midnight Conversations' (2019).


all rights reserved



Aldora Britain Records Rothley, UK

The worldwide hub of independent and underground music since 2013.

contact / help

Contact Aldora Britain Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Call The Shots, you may also like: