We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

Above The Waterline / In The Twilight

by Necessary Animals

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more. Paying supporters also get unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app.
    Purchasable with gift card

      name your price


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 550 Aldora Britain Records releases available on Bandcamp and save 90%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Westerly, Transistor Radio, The Blue Box, River Come Down, Tree Of Life, Learning Field, Blues Beats And Brel, Sounds And Textures, and 542 more. , and , .

    Excludes supporter-only releases.

    Purchasable with gift card

      £31.34 GBP or more (90% OFF)





Necessary Animals take Aldora Britain Records on an intergalactic synthwave journey with their new double A-side single. The release features 'Above The Waterline' and 'In The Twilight'.

The two tracks are expansive and growing soundscapes that are built around a space pop feel. Heavily influenced by the synthwave movement, Necessary Animals create two sonic pieces that look to push those boundaries out a little further. The vocals are drenched in psychedelia and colour, whilst the instrumental backing returns to the glory days of the synthesiser. The futuristic feel remains, however. A fantastic offering from the Necessary Animals.

For fans of The Horrors, Jonny Pierce (The Drums), The Strokes, The SLP, Nena and The Big Believe.

* Amanda Thompson (The Big Believe) is a member of Necessary Animals.

* Ingvild Syntropia has previously played Princess Leia via motion capture in Star Wars: Rogue One.


released May 24, 2021

Written by Bruzon/Rodway/Thompson.

'Above The Waterline'...

Helena Zomer: vocals.
Amanda Thompson: vocals, guitar.
Alan Bruzon: guitar.
Fritz Catlin: drums.
Keith Rodway: keyboards, glockenspiel, ukulele.

'In The Twilight'...

Ingvild Syntropia: vocals.
Amanda Thompson: guitar, piano, vocals.
Alan Bruzon: 12-string acoustic guitar.
Keith Rodway: bass, synthesiser.
Fritz Catlin: drums.
Kath Allsop: violin.
Nick Weekes: sound design.

Recorded at Kan Studios, Eastbourne by Alan Bruzon and Keith Rodway.
Mixed at Shoretone Studio, Hastings by Fritz Catlin.
Artwork by Peter Quinnell.
Released by Tom Hilton for Aldora Britain Records (ABR-174).

Dedicated to Judy Staynes.


all rights reserved



Aldora Britain Records Rothley, UK

The worldwide hub of independent and underground music since 2013.

contact / help

Contact Aldora Britain Records

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Above The Waterline / In The Twilight, you may also like: